Time of day

I’m shooting an earthwork monument for photogrammetry, and its taken months of patient work by the team at OWLP to get all the required consents, so as soon as I got the email from Natural England confirming permission and the cloud cleared, off I went, got there at 10am and flew for an hour.

18082014 mosaic _01

The results were disappointing, sure I got the cover, but this is a pale ghost of what I know to be there: most of the features I wanted to record were almost invisible. I returned on the same day at 6pm and tried to repeat the path. What a difference! Low light is much better than overhead. I knew this of course but had hoped the 10am shoot would have been just enough before noon to be effective. In August at this latitude it’s just not the case.

Time of day

Left:10am right 6pm

On the return that evening the wind had dropped and it took an age to raise the camera, even with my biggest kite. Just as I was settling down to figure out the swath walk the wind cut completely requiring a rapid haul to save the camera. ..but the story did not end there as a glance over my shoulder…

Wx approaching 18082014

…told me it was time to get out of the sky. The lull before the storm gave me enough time to get the camera safe and begin the walk down the now razor tight line to recover the kite in the rising squall.

B

About billboyheritagesurvey

Heritage worker
Gallery | This entry was posted in KAP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time of day

  1. Reblogged this on Ouse Washes: The Heart of the Fens and commented:
    Lovely images from Bill Blake of the Earith Civil War Bulwark – captured – through kite aerial photography – as part of the work he does for the Ouse Washes Landscape Partnership scheme including for the Cambridge Archaeological Unit’s project to take place around this location in a month or so.

Leave a Reply

