clickPan Pro in action

G sequence_correct_02_vThis is a sample from the clickPan Pro ‘G’ sequence. You get 2 nadir shots for every pan shift. A good thing to get double cover but the sequence means if the shots to horizon fail its a fair wait before the next pass to have another go. I could opt for a smaller pan step but this will slow things down a lot, something I’m loath to do.
CPP sequencesAs supplied these are the available sequences. G is the only one that gives me a true horizon shot with the servo (a hefty Hitec HS 625MG, a survivor of my early servo bashing period) I’m using.

I have been used to a parade of pan shots on a fixed tilt so seeing less of the horizon is a bit disappointing…even more so when I discover the auto focus on the EosM has let me down a fair bit:
G sequence H failit only took 3 AF fails for me to get a strip of 18 dull ground shots. I did a bit better on my next flight with horizon shots 10 frames apart:
LRscreenBetter lighting and a more stable ride under Mike Jones’s 8′ rokkaku got the AF working (it hates motion during its focus phase) and I got some good results. I’m temped to use fixed focus but I can’t let go of the hope I’ll get close ups like this:

…so I’m sticking with single point AF ( and living with the losses) for now.

The spire and corona at Methwold are thought to be unique and these low level aerial shots give a good idea of the form of the structure;  dating from the 1400s its clearly designed as a piece atop an existing tower, rather than a development of a lantern into a spire. It is thought to be a copy of a (now lost) corona in Bruges.
An advantage of the ‘roboKAP’ method is the accidental capture of a full sweep of shots (provided AF holds up)
After a fair while skipping about keeping the camera where I thought it should be I decided to get the directed camera aloft to be sure I’d got on target…just as the wind failed me I got a burst of shots of the corona without gaining the height I wanted..c’est la vie!

The recent restoration work (60% funded by English Heritage) looks great as it tones in with the weathered stone of the spire.
The economy of the directed camera is instuctive: 50 shots- one keeper, I had over 800 frames from the AutoKAP session and just 4 frames got my target!
My next mission was to provide a live demonstration of KAP technique for Royston Photographic Society on Therfield Heath, something I promised to do earlier in the year but had to postpone for bad weather.

The evening of Thursday 25th July 2013 was perfect, the cloud lifted and the gentle rippling  Southerly pinned the Levitation to the sky. For extra interest I flew an Explorer 2.7 and it was instructive to see the difference in flying angle between the 2. Both kites has plenty enough power for the work. Knowing 2 kites in the same sky is a risky situation I was keen to get the AutoKAP rig running to record the event and keep my hands fee to juggle the lines .

The vertical angle separation between the 2 kites can be judged from this  shot viewed from the Levitation line tilted down 45degrees. I was able to look down on the Explorer with good line separation:

With the rig running from 19.46pm to 20.24pm I captured 359 frames with very few rejects thanks to the smooth ride from the delta.  The bulk of the shots were very dull indeed, but that was not the point: I set out to share the experience of flying a camera from a kite line and I think, as an introduction, a lazyily weaving pair of  kites in a gentle breeze flown from atop an ancient burial on a sacred heath at sunset can’t be beat!

It was a great relief to hear the shutter clicking away as I hauled the kite back in.

B.

About billboyheritagesurvey

Heritage worker
Gallery | This entry was posted in KAP and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to clickPan Pro in action

  1. Ramon says:

    Started re-reading these cP-P articles with more attention. So here I found what tilt servo you’re using. Might be the one I need for that purpose as well. Thanks for mentioning all sequences in one overview. If you don’t mind I put it on paper to keep it with me for further ref.

Leave a Reply

