Saxstead mill…flying blind

After an intensive KAP session at Framlingham Castle I was determined to get the camera over Saxtead Mill, it is a fairly rare big post mill and I have had 4 attempts to date, each time I tired to fly a kite here I have been stymied by lack of wind, sodden ground or poor wind direction placing the rig over the busy road intersection on the Green. Today was special, field work at the castle was done, I wouldn’t be passing this way for a while …and we had wind and light on our side.
Click clickWe had been flying the big rok sucessfully earlier in the day and the wind held. The big sail tugged upward but as soon as I hitched the rig on the trouble beagn, the shutter servo would not actuate the shutter…what was wrong?
Restarting the rig helped..but we were airborne for only a few seconds before the videolink packed up. We had run the thing for about 2 hours already. This is bad news, the rig is powered by a single hefty 11.1 v LiPo battery and it’s strapped in with zipties…the only spare with me was the battery which powers the vid reciever. I was not going to pack up and go home so I ripped the battery off the back of the RC transmitter and rubber banded it onto the rig, upping the weight but without tools I couldn’t strip out the old battery.  We had pan, tilt & shoot by RC and these shots were taken by Felix’s geusstimate of what the camera was pointing at.Saxstead Mill_x640_03
Saxstead Mill_x640_01I kept the camera where I thought we would get the best stand off…Saxstead Mill_x640_02
Saxstead Mill_x640_04Clearly framing shots was a bit chaotic but the wind and light worked well to capture high level detail.

Saxstead Mill_x640_05Saxstead Mill_x640_06

The kite was flying into the sun and judgement on placing the camera was difficult. I decided to keep it on the sunny side of the mill to be sure of getting the best cover.

The Mill at Saxstead Green is thought to date from 1790 before a rebuild in 1854 by Whitmore and Binyon, the Wickham Market millwrights.
My many attempts to KAP this mill are inspired by my grandfathers choice for the cover of his 1948 book, I find the mix of 18th C technology, hints of Georgian architecture and a vernacular style evolved from the very earliest windmill designs compelling.
I had a spare battery but it was 65 miles away…

B

About billboyheritagesurvey

Heritage worker
Gallery | This entry was posted in KAP, Windmills and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

