West Wratting Mill

Seen from the ground West Wratting Mill appears surrounded by trees which have grown up since its heyday, raising the camera gives a better view of it.
First built in 1726 it is the oldest surviving smock mill in the country.  Now the wheat has been harvested the open field to the south of it lets me get my kite close to it with the wind in the South. The blow was pretty wild; gusts pushed the Explorer about relentlessly but it hung on and kept a good line, it’s good at this sort of stuff. With a drogue it will keep its line almost to the peak of gust where it gradually heels over.  I waited for gaps in the clouds to shoot these shots.
At 2.7m square the Explorer has quite a kick at the peak gust of 24mph and I was glad of the 250DaN line I chose to fly it on. West Wratting is the highest village in Cambridgeshire at 55m above sea level so I think the record at 10m might be a bit on the light side. Notice the lull at 7mph; this is as about as wide a wind range as the Explorer can handle. The rig weight was 800g. (Glad I was out of the sky before the big spike at 15.00!)

I had plenty of lift and the drogue worked well to smooth the rocking of the kite at the top end of the wind speed. The tree line behind the mill concerned me so I kept the kite well inside the rotor zone.
Just over the horizon I knew the new Wadloes wind farm would be in view. I didn’t get the shot I’d imagined but the high open ground of SW Cambridgeshire is a millers playgound for sure.

B

About billboyheritagesurvey

Heritage worker
Gallery | This entry was posted in KAP, Windmills and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

