KAP Success with the Didak Explorer

My first proper KAP shots from the Explorer came after making a mess of things with my light wind lifter.  I struggled to launch in a very light westerly standing atop the Dyke and when I got it happy in the sky tied it off to a ground stake to prep my rig. Bad things happened…the wind at 20m up was very different to ground level…the CiM lifter began to heave about the sky and before I could untie it and feed it line it slowly began a big curling dive….and landed in a thorn bush..bugger.
It took about half an hour to recover it and, fool that I am, I decided to give it another go. I stuggled to launch again, 4m of ripstop flapping about in any direction but up. I gave up. I finaly noticed the rising wind. I swapped kites and after a lot more flapping in the rotor at the top of the Dyke (yes, this is why I was making a mess of estimating wind speed: the Dike was creating just enough of a rotor to make the wind feel lighter than the main flow and push the kite over at ground level).
I had my trusty Sutton Flowform with me but I thought I’d fling the Explorer at the thorn bushes instead. Up she rose and kept a good steady station in the sky. I tied it off on about 30m of line and watched it closely. It looked ok. I hung my rig on the line, checked the radios, and let the kite rise:
The Fleam Dyke runs from left to right the old C&N line top to bottom.
The Explorer pulls harder and rises higher than the Sutton in gust, it drops lower in lull too. I had to work the line quick in lull but the Explorer flown with a light bridle and a Y line drogue on Coramid extreme line did well- it rocked about but this is its nature- it likes to rock!  Having flown it to its upper limit I knew what to expect if the wind pushed any harder.
What I hoped would be an easy KAP shot turned out to take most of the day to get the camera in position but I got the big curve of the old Chesterford and Newmarket line in 3 shots from 40m up.
I’m begining to trust the Explorer!
B

About billboyheritagesurvey

Heritage worker
Gallery | This entry was posted in KAP and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

