Getting to know the Didak Explorer 2.7

My old friend the Premier Kites parafoil 7.5 is the subject of my 1st KAP shot from the Didak Explorer 2.7;  well almost the first, it’s one of a handful out of 360 blanks that caught the parafoil flying below a fixed nadir ‘pocket KAP’ rig. Today we had a nice steady 6-11 mph westerly and I felt happy enough with the Explorer’s flight to let it carry a rig aloft. There was a lack of good light for photography so I thought I’d try some ‘low risk’ KAP  as a way of getting some practice in.  The Explorer was flown from a fixed anchor on a light line and I worked the little parafoil around the rig to see if I could snap it before the intervalometer filled the SD card.
Flying the two kites together I really got to appreciate how much more stable the flowform is than the parafoil despite their unequal sizes (2,7 m2 & 0.7 m2). The parafoil reacts to wind speed variation with fast zooms across the wind window while the flowform sits in a steady spot downwind, it rocks as the wind picks up but that’s about it. The un-vented parafoil rises higher and drops lower than the flowform as the wind rises and falls.Even without a tail the flowform is steadier than the parafoil.
Now I know  the Explorer does better in less tugging winds I flew it with a lightweight bridle by Peter Bults on superlight Coramid ‘Extreme’ line, it did well and I think comparing it to the Sutton might be a bit unfair; it’s a different kind of lifter- it develops less power in a narrower wind range but it’s useful none the less- it is pretty stable compared to a parafoil!
Happy flying,
B

About billboyheritagesurvey

Heritage worker
Gallery | This entry was posted in KAP, Kites and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

