Pocket KAP

Recently I had to leave my KAP kit at home because of lack of space in the car but I was able to take a pocket camera and a tiny kite….I imagined I’d be able to lash something together and get some kind of KAP done- I almost did but was defeated by a lack of practice with CHDK- no photos but I got the camera aloft about 20m under 0.5m2 of Spirit of Air parafoil…and that got me thinking…

20mins of quality shed time later and I have the assembly of a fixed tilt KAP rig ready for testing. Lets see what the tiny kite can do …114 shots taken at 3s intervals caught this single shot with the camera about 5m off the ground. The tiny kite simply didn’t create enough lift in 5-6mph windspeed to achieve much more , still proof of the pocket rig if not the pocket kite!

Improvements to be made will be a better method of fixing the tilt angle and some kind of pan gear…watch this space!

About billboyheritagesurvey

Heritage worker
Gallery | This entry was posted in KAP and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

